Home Page


Curriculum Intent

During your child’s time at Nursery School, they will be accessing the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. Sometimes when asked, your child may say they have “just played”, so what have they been learning?


Young children learn from everything around them – people, the environment, the routine, the atmosphere and their experiences. All aspects of children’s growth and development are woven together, but it is interesting to look at the different areas of learning separately to understand how young children learn.


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) is made up of the following areas of learning:- The 3 prime areas which are the most important areas for all other learning to take place, these are: -

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The other 4 specific areas of learning are: -

  • Understanding The World
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Mathematics


For further information about the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum please click on the following link

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage

Birth to 5 Matters